Joe Moon works in IT Management, Maintenance, Troubleshooting, and Help Support at Sain. He learned about the company from his father who saw a Sain ad in the Birmingham paper and  called Joe to tell him about it, even though Joe was living in Nashville at the time. One of his things Joe likes most about Sain is the encouragement and help that is given to employees to expand, grow, and take on new challenges.

Joe’s favorite projects have been learning MicroStation CADD and helping Sain jump into the computerized industry.

In a Q&A session we got to know Joe a little better…

Q: Tell us a little about yourself.

A: I was born in Tuscaloosa, and grew up in Cottondale, Alabama. I took drafting in high school, and got my first drafting job at Almon & Associates, just after high school graduation.  I performed Architectural, Civil Engineering, Oil & Gas pipeline drafting in Alabama, Texas, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Tennessee before starting to work at Sain Associates (I actually hired on with Sain-South Engineering). Computer technology, and computer programming has been an interest of mine (and now my job) for the past 35 years.  I live in a custom log home on Straight Mountain in Blount County, Alabama. I prefer living out in the country, where you can still enjoy quite, peace, and nature.  I like to work in the yard, and enjoy building projects.

Q: Tell us a little bit about your family.

A:  I have 2 younger brothers, and an aunt (whom I consider more as a sister, since she and I are the same age) and we practically grew up together.  My momma lived in Tuscaloosa, AL until her death in 2011, and my daddy lives in Centreville, AL. Our family and ancestors have lived in the South (Alabama, Georgia, and Florida) for many generations.  We all came from middle-class, blue-collar working families.  I have been previously married, but have no children.

Q: Tell us something about yourself that would surprise us?

A: I like to plant and grow flowers and shrubs.

 

Q: Three words to best describe you?

A: Motivated, Hard-Working, Diligent

 

Q: Top 3 life highlights?

A: Earning an Associates Degree in Civil Engineering, Building my childhood log home dream, Obtaining a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) certification.

 

Q: What are your hopes for our industry?

A: Practice environmentally safe and conservative engineering design and construction, especially the reuse and renovation of existing structures and land developments.  The rebuilding of America’s Infrastructure!!

Q: What aspect of your role do you enjoy the most?

A: Being challenged with a problem, and figuring out a solution to it.

Q: What book did you read last?

A: A book of short stories about Blount County, Alabama’s history.

 

Q: What did you want to be when growing up?

A: Work on a river boat barge, drive a dump truck, be an Oceanographer, work in wildlife and forestry management, be an auto mechanic, be an architechtural/engineering drafter, be a land surveyor, be a Civil Engineer.

 

Q: What do you like to do in your spare time?

A: Woodworking and building projects, yard landscaping projects and plant growing, deer hunting, fishing when there’s time, collecting old drafting, engineering, and land surveying equipment, antique hunting.

 

Q: What is your favorite sport/team?

A: I like to watch Lacrosse, but it’s not too popular in the South. I don’t follow football very much (burned-out from growing up in a college town), but I would say my favorite team would have to be Alabama Crimson Tide.

Q; What is your hidden talent?

A: Building things with my hands