ALSITE 2016 Annual Meeting Recap

Posted by on Aug 1, 2016 in Sain Associates News | No Comments

JeffThe Alabama Section Institute of Transportation Engineers (ALSITE) 2016 Annual Meeting was held on Wednesday, June 8 through Friday, June 10 at The Beach Club in Gulf Shores, Alabama.  (Photo Gallery)

The meeting began on Wednesday afternoon with an interactive Professional Development Session on Building and Leading High Performing Teams. Technical sessions took place on Thursday and included presentations on:


  • Orange Beach Access Management and Modeling
  • Intermodal Challenges for Alabama Ports
  • Marketing Safety to Local Officials
  • Every Day Counts in Shelby County
  • Using Highway Safety Manual Methods to Compare Access Management Countermeasures

Members and guests socialized at the annual Officer’s Reception on Thursday evening. The Annual Banquet took place after the Officer’s Reception. ALSITE President Rod Turochy of Auburn University presided over the banquet. The Annual Banquet is one of the highlights of the year for ALSITE. It is important to properly recognize the organization’s accomplishments from the previous year and individuals who have contributed significantly to the transportation engineering profession.

Two HMR ALSITE Scholarships, Inc. recipients were acknowledged at the banquet. Ashley McDonald from the University of Alabama received the 2016 Billy Jones Memorial Traffic Engineering Scholarship in the amount of $3,500. Matthew Dannemann from Auburn University received the 2016 Charles E. Alexander Memorial Transportation Engineering Scholarship in the amount of $6,500.

There were four ALSITE annual awards given out this year. Jeff Stephenson received the 2015 ALSITE Past President Award. Waymon Benifield with the Alabama Department of Transportation received the 2015 ALSITE Transportation Professional of the Year Award. James Brown with Gonzalez Strength & Associates, Inc. received the 2015 ALSITE Transportation Engineer of the Year Award. Elmore County Engineer Richie Beyer received the 2015 ALSITE Transportation Safety Award. At the conclusion of the banquet, the newly elected 2017 ALSITE officers were administered their oath of office.

The Scholarship Auction was a combination silent/live auction again this year. The live auction was held at the conclusion of the Annual Banquet, and was co-led by first time auctioneers Jim Meads and Becky White. Both auctions were successful as several thousand dollars were raised to fund future scholarships. The meeting concluded on Friday with breakfast, our annual Traffic Bowl where three teams of three participants competed for bragging rights, the Annual Business Meeting, and the Billy Jones Memorial Golf Tournament.

Leave a Reply